The Sacred Triduum

The Easter Triduum begins with the Vigil of Holy Thursday. It marks the end of the forty days of Lent and the beginning of the three-day celebration of the death and resurrection of Jesus Christ – Holy Thursday, Good Friday and Easter Vigil/Easter Sunday. The Fathers of the Second Vatican Council reminded us of the extraordinary significance of the Triduum : “Christ redeemed us all and gave perfect glory to God principally through his paschal mystery: dying he destroyed our death and rising he restored our life. Therefore the Easter Triduum of the passion and resurrection of Christ is the culmination of the entire liturgical year.”

These last Forty Days were a time of preparation for these great Three days, which is what Triduum means. These three days lead us to an empty tomb and an Octave, eight days, of celebrating the Resurrection. They also introduce an entire liturgical season, the Easter Season, which lasts for Fifty days until Pentecost.

We hope that you will join us tomorrow night as we begin The Easter Triduum.


Holy Thursday,

Mass of the Lord’s Supper at 7:00 p.m.
Followed by the Repose of the Blessed Sacrament in the Library then at the Rectory until 12:00 a.m.

* * *


Good Friday:

Stations of the Cross at 2:00 p.m.

Celebration of the Passion of the Lord, Communion Service at 3:00 p.m.

* * *


Holy Saturday:

Easter Vigil Mass, Vigil of the Resurrection of the Lord at 8:00 p.m.

* * *


Easter Sunday:

Resurrection of the Lord at 10:00 a.m. and 12:00 p.m.

* * *

Please note that all take place in St. Cecilia’s Gym, except for the
Repose of the Blessed Sacrament,
please look above under Holy Thursday for details.

%d bloggers like this: